Connect with us


Holly Humberstone announces debut album Paint My Bedroom Black

Holly Humberstone announced debut album Paint My Bedroom Black, which arrives this fall. She also shared the first two tracks off the record, “Antichrist” and “Room Service.” Continue reading…



Alt-pop star Holly Humberstone has officially announced the release of her debut album, Paint My Room Black, a highly anticipated record that follows the meteoric rise of the 23-year-old.

In addition to her album announcement, Humberstone shared the first two tracks off the project, “Room Service” and “Antichrist.”

Read more: Olivia Rodrigo announces her sophomore album GUTS

After a whirlwind few years of two successful EPs, touring with Olivia Rodrigo and girl in red, winning the BRIT Rising Star Award, and making her debut Coachella performance, the Grantham-born singer-songwriter has solidified herself as one of the most raw and unrelenting voices of her generation.

Arriving Oct. 13 via Darkroom/Geffen/Polydor Records, Humberstone’s debut album will explore “the two sides of [herself] that coexist.” While Humberstone’s first two EPs interrogated the concept of “home” — the first project was influenced by the isolation of the English countryside and the second explored the uncertain loneliness of moving to London — Paint My Bedroom Black is the story of transience. Humberstone’s life on the road challenged the young artist’s sense of security and tether to the U.K. Finding pockets of “home” in hotel rooms, romances, and small comforts were reflective inspirations for the overarching narrative of the coming album. 

“This album is an exploration of the two sides of myself that coexist,” Humberstone says. “One side, the introvert who wants to board the windows up and shut the world out, writing about wanting to escape my surroundings and the confusion of life on the road last year. The other side of me, the extrovert, writing about a budding relationship, deep connections, and love.”

Humberstone’s deep introspection and raw lyricism come alive on “Room Service” and “Antichrist,” which mirror the two sides of the artist. The “Antichrist” track and music video share the mischievous unraveling of her recent breakup set against thumping pop and sacrilegious staging. Yet, “Room Service” offers a different tone; yearning, romantic, and vulnerable, Humberstone sheds the layers of swaggering certainty. The opposition of the two worlds is a riveting taste of what’s to come.

Humberstone will begin to perform unreleased songs from Paint My Bedroom Black this summer at her recently announced show at The Fonda Theatre in Los Angeles Aug. 11, as well as Lollapalooza, Osheaga Music and Arts Festival, and Outside Lands Festival. 

Check out the tracklisting and see the “Antichrist” music video below.

Paint My Bedroom Black tracklisting

1. “Paint My Bedroom Black”
2. “Into Your Room”
3. “Cocoon”
4. “Kissing In Swimming Pools”
5. “Ghost Me”
6. “Antichrist”
7. “Lauren”
8. “Baby Blues”
9. “Flatlining”
10. “Elvis Impersonators”
11. “Girl”
12. “Room Service”


Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *